TRANSATLANTYK Film Music Competition

The participants' task was to compose the music for two short films, four minute long footage of "The Third Miracle," directed by Agnieszka Holland and six minute long animation "Pigeon Impossible," directed by Lucas Martell, and produced by Martell Animation Studio. The material has been selected in order for the composers to present both their professional technique and original style. The winner will receive the title of the TRANSATLANTYK Young Composer 2013 and the First Prize in the amount of 60 000 PLN (approximately 20,000 USD). The grand finale will take place on August 7th, 2013, in the Polski Theatre. Compositions will be judged by a jury chaired by Jan AP Kaczmarek, and the awards will be presented at the Closing Gala of the Festival on August 8th, 2013.
This year, one of the ten finalists will receive an additional special prize, a publishing contract with Sony ATV.

 Jury of Transatlantyk Film Music Competition 2013 are:

Marco Beltrami – composer, he has already been nominated twice for the Academy Award® for the music score for "3:10 to Yuma" and "The Hurt Locker (“World War Z”, “Wolverine”).

Petr Zelenka - director and screenwriter.  His works include "Buttoners" (awarded the Tiger at the MFF in Rotterdam and four Czech Lions), "Loners", and the mockumentary "Year of the Devil".

Jan A.P. Kaczmarek – (Chairman of the jury) - composer, the Oscar winner for his score for "Finding Neverland," ("Unfaithful," "Hachi: A Dog’s Tale”), the Founder and the Director of the TRANSATLANTYK International Film and Music Festival.

Anna Laskowska – managing director of Sony/ATV Music Publishing in Poland.

Robert Townson – executive producer and head of the Varèse Sarabande record label, to date he has produced over 1100 film music CD releases.

All details concerning the awards are to be found in the Competition's Regulations.

Competition's Regulations - download

Application form – download

Films for download

Competiotion's date – August 7th

The award ceremony – August 8th

TFMC 2012

During the Gala the winners of both music competitions for young composers were announced. The winner of TRANSATLANTYK Film Music Competition, TRANSATLANTYK Young Composer 2012 title and TRANSATLANTYK Young Composer Award in the amount of 20 000 USD was Daniel Beijbom from Sweden. His was the composition that was introduced to the Festival audience, gathered in Grand Theater this evening. The two remaining winners were Jan Glembotzki and Paweł Pudło, who were presented with the symbollic cheques in the amounts of 10 000 USD and 5 000 USD , respectively. The Jury, led by Mark Isham, decided also to give an Honorable Mention Award to Mikołaj Stroiński.
The participants' task was to compose music for two short film clips (a 7-minute long fragment of "Hachiko: A Dog's Story", dir. Lasse Hallstrom, and the animated film "The Great Escape", produced by Platige Image Studio and directed by Damian Nenow).