TRANSATLANTYK Instant Composition Contest will take place on August 6th, 2013 at the Teatr Polski, in Poznan, Poland, ul. 27 Grudnia 8/10.
Participants will be asked to compose a live solo piano piece to pair with a short film immediately after having watched it.
An international jury consists of:

  • Marc Marder - film and theatre composer and bass player (“The missing picture”, “The Khmer Rouge Death Machine”)

  • Zachary Matz - producer (“City Island”, “One point O”)

  • Leszek Możdżer  - pianist and composer (Jury President)

  • Dave Porter – television and film composer (“Breaking Bad”, “Third wish”).

  • Peter Golub - Composer, Director of the Sundance Film Music Program

Along with the title of the TRANSATLANTYK Instant Composer 2013, the winner will receive the first prize of 30,000 PLN (approximately 10,000 USD). Laureates of the second and third prize will receive 15 000 PLN (approx. 5 000 USD) and 7 500 PLN (approx. 2 500 USD). All awards will be presented at the Closing Gala of the Festival on August 8th, 2013.

Competition's Regulations - download

Application form – download

Application deadline – July 28th 

Instant Composition Contest date: August 6th

The award ceremony: August 8th

For all queries, please contact:


Raiffeisen Bank



TRANSATLANTYK Instant Composition Contest 2012:

The international Jury of TRANSATLANTYK Instant Composition Contest, led by Jan A.P. Kaczmarek, awarded as much as 6 people.

The winner - Jacek Szwaj - was named TRANSATLANTYK Instant Composer 2012
and given First Prize in the amount of  20 000 USD. 

The winners of Second and Third Prize - Marta Grzywacz and Jacek Obstarczyk -
- were presented with cheques in the amounts of 10 000 and 5 000 USD, respectively. 

The awards were sponsored by RAIFFEISEN Bank Polska S.A.

In recognition of the high level of performance, the Jury decided to grant Honorable Mention Awards to Noam Sivan from Israel, Jarosław Praszczałek and Nicola Kołodziejczyk.